Chapter One: An Introduction

I’ve owned a few point and shoot cameras over the last decade and have always enjoyed snapping pictures here and there.  As much as I tried though I could never quite develop the look and feel I wanted or even explore the possibilities I saw in other photographers.  That changed about a year ago when I was given my first DSLR and a whole new world was opened to me where I could explore not only the myriad of options available through just the camera, but in what modern technology allowed through post-processing.

It’s taken the better part of a year to just learn how to really work my camera and how to employ my computer to create the kind of look and feel with my images that I had always imagined.  Over the last year I have experimented, often failing miserably, but I have learned and slowly started accumulating some stuff that might just be worth sharing.  And in a nutshell, that is why this blog exists.  I want to show others what I have seen, what I create and the stories that accompany the visuals.

I don’t pretend to be anything I’m not.  I’m very much an amateur who is frankly still in the infancy stages of creative exploration… still learning and still failing but pushing forward to hopefully learn some more.  My hope is not to use this blog as so much a means to display great work (though I certainly hope some enjoy it) but to document my journey from amateur who is still a little scared to shoot in manual mode to… well, whatever I become.  I don’t know where any of this will take me or what the end looks like, nor do I really care.  This is about the journey.  I sincerely hope others follow along and join me with their words and work.

This is a 38 foot tall sculpture called The Traveling Man, designed by Brad Oldham, Brandon Oldenburg, and Reel FX Creative Studios and located in the Deep Ellum neighborhood of Dallas.  The Traveling Man is meant to symbolize the industrial heritage of this part of the city.  I find him to be a nice metaphor for my own journey.  I feel like a bit of a traveling man myself but instead of a bird on my arm, I have a camera.  Me and a three-story metal sculpture permanently fixed to the concrete ground… we’ll see who goes further.

signature

Standard

2 thoughts on “Chapter One: An Introduction

Leave a Reply

